Diction

http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2979895296/tt0058385 “The Rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain…” is a line from a movie that came out when I was in the 4th grade! Professor Higgins does his best to get the guttersnipe Eliza to become a lady.

Being in television and/or radio was always a dream of mine. Never afraid of the stage, nor a sufferer of ‘mike fright’, I majored in Broadcast/Journalism in college, right out of high school. http://920kvel.com/index.php

Years later I realized my dream, by working first for a mid-sized market TV station. I had a weekly interview show, which was a blast for me! After that stint I went to work as on-air talent for the sister stations KVEL and KLCY in Vernal UT. I am a big deal there, just so you know!!! http://klcy.com/ I still have fans!

I was live on the air 4 hours every weekday and did 8 newscasts a day. I also introduced concerts, emceed events and was the queen of live remotes!

Then I relocated to Tucson AZ to take a position as the Business Development Director for 4 radio stations in that market and my on-air presence was minimal.

During all this experience a couple of things happened. I lost much of my ‘Chicago dialect’, developing a smart-ass, smooth (in my opinion)persona with lazy language peppered with slang and made-up words! It has stood me well for nigh onto 10-15 years!

Now an odd thing happened with my language skills recently that I didn’t notice right away. My diction has sharpened. Where I used to slur and accent my words for effect, I find I am unconsciously speaking more clearly. My consonants are becoming crisp. In a state known for lazy speech, mine is snapping to attention! If you listen to me, give you our toll-free number, for instance, you will hear me pronounce the ‘t’ on the end of every 8, in 888.228.1798. That’s a lot of ‘8’s’!

As I start The Listening Program for the 2nd time through, I am seeing my speech and language skills improving and I’m wondering what effects will be evident in the next weeks from repeating TLP at a higher level of functionality this time…

Stay tuned!!!

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in diction, KLCY, KVEL, My Fair Lady, radioactive isotopes, speech, television, The Listening Program, TLP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

