An old joke about marriage…

Debi States Junior High School Graduation

There is an old joke that goes like this: “Once upon a time a guy asked a girl “Will you marry me?” . The girl said “No” and she lived happily ever after. She went shopping, drank vodka with friends, always had a clean house, never had to cook, had a wardrobe full of shoes and bags, stayed skinny and was never farted upon. The End.”

The thing is, as much as I love that joke and totally agree with the premise, the sweet young thing I used to be, really hoped to be loved and adored by some really nice guy. The sweet little person I was, when young, truly believed she would meet the man of her dreams, get married, have children and a happy life in a home she could decorate and care for. The older, current version of this sweet girl, realizes life is often something entirely different than your childhood hopes and dreams.

Going through The Listening ProgramĀ®, for months now, I find myself sorting all kinds of things, evaluating their value in my life and letting a lot of things go. I think my brain is filtering and sorting and deciding what is germaine to the rest of my life and it’s purpose. It’s almost as if I an an observer within myself. Not that I have no choice, but that as things occur to me, I am more relaxed, lucid and can choose with clarity, wisdom and understanding. This really is an amazing place to be right now in life!

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in hope, lessons learned, live out loud, positive attitude, The Listening Program, therapy, TLP, transparency, wishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

