Why I Need to Go to All the Al Anon Meetings in the Ogden Region.

I don’t. I just want to. I am choosing to go so I am familiar with all of them. Then I can go when and where I want without having to search hither and yon. And I learn things every time I go. And I am meeting new people who ‘get’ the wierdness of my life to this point and understand how intent I am in improving my life and the lives of my kids and their kids.

When you are the adult child of an alcoholic, even if said qualifier is no longer walking the planet, you still have issues, that can be worked on. Maybe you marry one or two, date them, break up with them. Maybe you work for them, go to church with them, see them at family gatherings. Maybe you give birth to them and feel at a complete and total loss.

You can still learn stress relieving techniques and share you stories and hear others in a safe environment. Most people don’t share with others that they go to meetings. I do. I know I am not the only one putting on a face that belies life behind closed doors. I know I am not the only one who always felt separate, different and alone. I am not the only one who never felt loved, connected to people and the planet or that he/she fit in anywhere.

I now know I am not the only one who feels accepted and loved by total strangers, connected by heart and experience. I can make a difference that will mean something.

And if this sound like you, look up an Al Anon meeting in your area and show up. You can just show up, anywhere, any time and you will feel accepted, understood and loved, too.

(I believe drawing this wonderful addition to my life, of my Al Anon family is because I started listening to The Listening Program® nearly a year ago. Listening has opened my life and healed me in ways, the company will never claim! I do, because it happened and continues to happen for me.)

I’m off to a meeting at Ogden Regional Medical Center tonight, where I will learn things, make new friends and feel better about myself and my life. I will also solidify the fact that the only thing I have control over, is myself. Ciao!

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in Al-Anon, depression, emotions, hope, listening, mother, Ogden, relationships, The Listening Program, therapy, transparency, weird. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

