Who is God Anyway?

Al Anon Step 3: Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood him.

This overview is short because it is simply making the commitment to turn my life over to God. God can sort out the details but too much of my life has been used in ineffectual attempts to handle everything myself. I will still make a valiant effort, of course, but when I am overwhelmed, stressed and anxious, scared, hurt and in pain, when I can see no solution myself, I will let go and let God.

To sum up Step 3 in one word, might be surrender, or release and as the first 2 steps involved, acceptance.

The “Big Book” suggested prayer is:  “God, I offer myself to you – to build me and do with me as you will.  Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do your will.  Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of your power, your love, and The Way of life.  May I do your will always!”

This is a prayer of surrender of yourself and all your rights and belongings to God to do with as he pleases. Because God is smarter than us, and loves us more than we love ourselves, he will always do a better job running our lives than we can do for ourselves.

I have to share that I was quite pleased to learn that I could divorce the God of my childhood. I spent much of my adult life in anger over this subject. Today I may not have a clear picture of God, but that is okay. I know there is a power bigger than me at work in my life. I feel unconditional love around me. People come in and out of my life just when they are needed as I do the same for others. I do not feel controlled. I feel blessed. There is a huge difference. I may use the terms Universe or Cosmos to indicate the size of this power, but usually I just say ‘God’ because it is short.

When you hear me use the term ‘God’, do not think it is in reference to any religion, denomination or creed, because it is not. It simply represents the loving power helping me through my eclectic life. And I let go of things throughout each day as very little is in my control. Certainly I control nothing outside my hula hoop.

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who is God Anyway?

  1. ian craven says:

    I have to say Amen! Praise the Lord for this post! This post is the simple way of understanding God and really the only kind of view that we need of Him. All I am really saying is that I am getting tired of my philosophy class and much talk of theology in my Bible classes. I want to walk over to the other side of the stream where religion does not exist, but only a relationship with God.

    • roxycross says:

      Ian, you have a gift you bring to the planet of purity and we are all blessed by your presence here among us. Thank you for sharing your heart with us. Namaste’

  2. Who is God says:

    There is physical proof that God is real and proof of who God is. I don’t want you to do anything that will make you feel uncomfortable or find out anything that you don’t want to know but if you do want to know, there is a powerfully convincing apologetic book called “Master Science the search for God and His identity” You can get a free copy of the Science section and if you really want to know who God is, you can get the whole book for just one dollar you can get it at http://www.masterscience.webs.com I hope it helps 🙂

    • roxycross says:

      Why thank you kind stranger for this link! I have begun reading the FREE version and am already quite fascinated. Learning about how and why things work is germane to my existence and I appreciate your efforts to help me! Namaste’

Leave a Reply

