Remove my Shortcomings

Al Anon Step 7 Overview: Humbly asked Him to remove our shortcomings.

Seems like a simple thing, just ask to have your shortcomings removed, especially after having done so much work to find out what they are and make amends for things you did, didn’t do, said, didn’t say and what not.

In actuality, I’m doing this about every day, because every day I do or say something I really should have thought about first.

In looking at my shortcomings, I could alternate between laughing my ass off and balling my guts out. I twist in the wind, at the people, I have affected, with my choices. I’m truly sorry and really wish I could take some things back. But I can’t. And some choices, if not all my choices have brought me to where I am today. Wherever that is. It isn’t where I used to be, that is for sure!

In addition to working the Al Anon Steps I have other tools that help me. Listening to TLP® as I have mentioned has helped me a lot and helps me calm myself when stressed, for instance.

I still struggle with needing a lot of help in my life. I need friends and meetings and literature and fresh air and there are days I need those things more than other days. Today is one of those days. I did not handle something well and have apologized about it, but someone is still choosing to be unresponsive and not work with me to clear the air and I have to just accept this for now and it is not an easy thing to do. However, not too long ago I would have kept quiet and stuffed my feelings and acted like nothing was wrong. I don’t even think like that now.

I tend to catch myself developing resentments in time to stop them and do something about them. If not immediately, I can say something within a few days of someone doing something that hurts me and these are big shortcomings that have really hindered my forward movement in life previously.

So my list of shortcomings is made, and it is bigger than I am and I let my shortcomings go and ask God to remove them. Today is good, but the timing isn’t up to me, I know. I’m just to ask for help and let go and keep living my life the best I know how, today. Just doing the next best thing.

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in Advanced Brain, Al-Anon, The Listening Program, therapy, TLP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

