A Coast to Coast Road Trip

I have been talking about a coast to coast road trip for awhile now. Is it really time to plan it?

As I live in Eugene OR currently, my plan was to drive to the Oregon coast and start from there. Depending on the time of year, I would drive to Florence and then back through Eugene, on through Bend and eastern Oregon, Idaho, through Salt Lake City, hit Interstate 80 and be on my way! Staying on I-80, I would go through Wyoming, Nebraska, Iowa, maybe stop and visit my brother Mark, Illinois, where I would stop for a bit to visit my friends from back in the day, where I grew up in Chicago and the suburbs.

Chicago Trip July 2013 My hometown

Chicago Trip July 2013 My hometown

I planned my high school reunion with some friends and made a lovely trip to Chicago out of it in July 2013. Now I am eager to go back again!

From Chicago, I would be off to see Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York, which is where I-80 ends. Somewhere in New York I would start seeing things I have never seen before, as I would finally be somewhere I had never been.

Oregon Coast

Oregon Coast

Then I thought to start my trip I could drive to the Oregon coast and go north then follow the Columbia River for a more scenic beginning. Living in Oregon has been quite interesting as the flora, fauna and weather is different from what I have been used to, living in the Rocky Mountain West most of my adult life, but I remember humidity and damp cold from my Chicago days. The 2 years I lived on Monterrey Bay gave me a taste for ocean air, so going up the coast would be a lovely way to start my trip.

Road Trip

Road Trip

I started thinking about going from one end of the country to the other and realized, at some point in my life I have seen almost all of a trip along I-80 and wondered how I could mix it up to make it more interesting. I’m going to blog and vlog about my trip, and tweet and post along the way… you know I will check in to Foursquare, sharing locations and places I visit and probably post reviews on Yelp of places you really should check out when you are in the area and it’s been some time since I have seen some places, but… what else could I do?

Florida Baby!

Florida Baby!

It occurred to me that I could wander down the eastern seaboard to see beautiful places I have never seen, like Connecticut, Delaware, and the Carolinas. I could revisit our nation’s capitol and Maryland, Virginia, Georgia and Florida. In Jacksonville, I could get a massage from my brother, Adam, the personal trainer and massage therapist and see the city he calls home.

From Florida I could cross the country to California, through Alabama, Mississippi and Louisiana, states I have never seen. Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and California I have seen, but not all the parts I could drive though and then what if I didn’t choose the Interstate Highway System? What if I chose the back roads like Highway 30 and Route 66 or better yet… what if I took Amtrak and left the driving to professionals!?! Then all my time could be in taking photos and videos and absorbing this great land and sharing it with you?…

 

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

