All Humans have the Right to Love

 

All humans have rights, especially the right to love. <3 <3 <3

All humans have rights, especially the right to love.

Whenever I talk about how amazing it is that people who are not Caucasian/white have the rights white people do, my youngest daughter says I’m being racist. I mentioned that to a dear friend, who is my age, who shared that her daughter says that to her, too. My friend and I talked about how odd this is to us, because we were both raised at a time when it was illegal in this country for people of different races to marry and those who were not white did not have the same rights by law and in daily practice in this country.

Women can run for office, but this was not always the case.

Women can run for office, but this was not always the case.

I remember how angry men around me were when all black starters took the NCAA Championship in 1965, 50 years ago. Our daughters do not understand it was ‘normal’ practice to shun other races and I was raised that ‘white’ did not include Italians, Greeks, Jews and other groups of people who probably thought they were ‘white’.

It is critically important to know that this was the way it was, even if people have become enlightened and laws have changed, so history does not repeat itself. Although, by my nature, this upbringing did not take hold of me, it also took some gentle friends to show me areas I was stuck in old, unfair thinking, which I seriously appreciate. My nature is peaceable and I feel more peaceful when I let go of old, unequal beliefs.

Women have had the right to vote my entire adult life.

Women have had the right to vote my entire adult life.

It has always been legal for me to vote and even run for office, although that has not always been the case for women.

I am grateful our daughters are living at a time when all races have the same legal rights and hope, as a people, our daily practices catch up with law.

So now, as a nation, it is law in all 50 states, all humans have the right to marry. This creates all kinds of excitement from tears of relief in the sharing of beautiful stories of love, to those who are opposed, due to their personal beliefs and such. This is very similar to what this country went through giving women the right to vote and all races the same legal rights. And what I witnessed with the Civil Rights Movement, was a violent, ugly fight, I found frightening as a child, while my heart was touched at the sheer bravery of even black children to stand up for what is right.

I look forward to the day my grandchildren call me sexist, when I talk about how wonderful it is when a gay couple gets married, because it is so ‘normal’ for all people to have the same rights.

“If every 8 year old in the world is taught meditation, we will eliminate violence from the world within one generation.” Dalai Lama

“If every 8 year old in the world is taught meditation, we will eliminate violence from the world within one generation.” Dalai Lama

For those readers who are upset by this post, I’m sorry you feel that way and here is a beautiful mandala you can meditate on to lower your blood pressure, because I care about your rights, too… ❤ ❤ ❤

Spreading some love your way…

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in emotions, hope, lessons learned, live out loud, relationships, transparency. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

