I’m in Love

c7843a582661c76e38911673b140ac70Aren’t you? Aren’t you in love with your life, like I am? If not, you could get after changing that.

You are the only one who can, ya know.

I looked around my life at 38 years old and decided if I wasn’t happy with my life, I was the only one who could do anything about that.

Also, the only thing I really could change was me.

I read a lot of books. A LOT of books.

I read about women and depression and birth order and how to take charge of my life and hundreds of murder mysteries, because I was depressed. The self help books helped.

I learned a lot about life and how things work and made changes to myself.

Me at 13. That's a lot of hair there!

Me at 13. That’s a lot of hair there!

Here’s a personal story…

So when I was 38 my hair was copper penny red in the sun and one inch from my waist. It was a lot of work and took a lot of time and I had just given birth to my youngest son, so I had older ones and one daughter and life was tough. I was invisible to my husband who insisted I have long hair. After coming to the conclusion I was the only one who could change my life and the only thing I had power to change was me, I told my husband I was going to cut my hair. He threw a fit. I told him if he wanted my hair long he should play with it, show me some attention. I gave him 2 weeks.

75025_1680756816770_5370070_nWhen he left for work the 15th day since I told him I would cut it, I did cut it, to my shoulders and gave myself bangs. When he got home that day, he took one look at my hair and threw another fit. I calmly listened to him and resolved to cut it shorter the next day. Which I did.

I cut it about an inch all over my head, colored it dark ash brown and spiked the top a bit.

My hair has been in various pixie and fauxhawk type styles since because it’s my hair and I like it short and sassy. The week after he threw his 3rd fit about my cutting my hair, a neighbor saw me in the grocery store where I worked and complimented me.

Look at that happy girl!

Look at that happy girl!

He said he wondered who the pretty dark haired woman was stacking potatoes in the produce section. It was me. It verified I was still attractive to someone and made me smile. Cutting my hair was my first act of independence in taking charge of my own life.

So what can you take charge of in your own life, today?

About roxycross

Make a difference in your neighborhood! Check out www.roxycross.com. Namaste'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

